Bobby Maimaron named 2017 NFF Chapter Scholar-Athlete Award Winner!

By on 10/04/2017

Duxbury High School in Duxbury, Mass.
Northeast Region – NFF Jack Grinold/Eastern Massachusetts Chapter
Currently Playing at Williams College [Mass.]


IRVING, Texas (Oct. 4, 2017) –
From the more than 1.1 million high school football players across the country, the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced today the names of five outstanding individuals as the recipients of the 2017 NFF Chapter Scholar-Athlete Awards. Each recipient is selected as the best of the best from his region of the country at the high school level. The five honorees, who are now playing college football after graduating high school in May 2017, are being recognized solely for their accomplishments in high school.

“The NFF Chapter Scholar-Athlete Awards showcase first-class high school football players from across the country,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “This year’s honorees have set the standard for accomplishment on the field, in the classroom and in the community. We are truly proud to honor their success in December.”

2017 NFF Chapter Scholar-Athlete Honorees
(Currently college freshmen, the award is solely based on high school accomplishments.)

·         John Mahoney – from Valley High School in West Des Moines, Iowa, and the Iowa Chapter in the Midwest Region. (Currently attending the University of Notre Dame.)

·         Bobby Maimaron – from Duxbury High School in Duxbury, Mass., and the Jack Grinold/Eastern Massachusetts Chapter in the Northeast Region. (Currently attending Williams College [Mass.].)

·         Brandon Micale – from Pomona High School in Arvada, Colo., and the Colorado Chapter in the West Region. (Currently attending the University of San Diego.)

·         Rick Mottram – from Allentown High School in Allentown, N.J., and the Delaware Valley (N.J.) Chapter in the East Region. (Currently attending Bucknell University.)

·         Blake Wooden – from American Heritage School in Plantation, Fla., and the Brian Piccolo/Fort Lauderdale (Fla.) Chapter in South Region. (Currently attending Columbia University.)

The five scholar-athletes will travel to New York City to be honored during the NFF Chapter Awards Luncheon, presented by Under Armour, on Tuesday, Dec. 5, at the New York Hilton Midtown. First bestowed in 1991, the NFF Chapter Scholar-Athlete Awards have become one of the most prestigious high school honors in the country. Criteria for the award include, but are not limited to, academic achievement, athletic accolades and community involvement.

With 120 chapters and more than 12,000 members, the NFF Chapter Network impacts more than 500,000 student-athletes at 5,000 high schools in 47 states each year. The centerpiece of their efforts are the annual chapter awards banquets, which recognize more than 3,500 of the nation’s top scholar-athletes and distribute more than $1 million in scholarships. From this pool of 3,500 scholar-athletes, the chapters nominated 35 individuals in 2017 as finalists for the highly coveted NFF Chapter Scholar-Athlete Awards.

During the past 26 years, 115 student-athletes have been recognized as NFF Chapter Scholar-Athletes, and this year will mark the 27th class of honorees. Past NFF Chapter Scholar-Athletes have gone on to hold various titles, including president, CEO, vice president, lawyer, NFL player, orthopedic surgeon, senior partner and financial analyst, among others.

Recent recipients include Andrew Luck (2008, former Stanford and current Indianapolis Colts quarterback), Andrew Rodriguez (2008, Army West Point linebacker and winner of the 2011 William V. Campbell Trophy®), Josh Rosen (2015, current starting quarterback at UCLA) and Weston Steelhammer (2013, First Team All-Mountain West defensive back at Air Force).

Other notable past recipients include Todd Helton (1992, former Tennessee quarterback and retired Colorado Rockies first baseman), Drew Henson (1998, former Michigan quarterback and professional football and baseball player), Bobby Hoying (1991, former Ohio State quarterback and winner of the 1995 William V. Campbell Trophy®) and Jon Stinchcomb (1998, former Georgia and NFL offensive lineman). Five NFF Chapter Scholar-Athletes have gone on to win NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, for their accomplishments in college. They are Giovanni Carmazzi (1995, Hofstra), Hoying, Eion Hu (1993, Harvard), Rodriguez and Stinchcomb.

For tickets to the Dec. 5 luncheon in New York, please contact Ron Dilatush at or by calling 972-556-1000.

Following the Dec. 5 luncheon, the five 2017 recipients will attend the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, also at the New York Hilton Midtown, as honored guests where they will meet many of the game’s greatest legends and current college stars. As the culmination of the regular season, the event provides the stage for the induction of the 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class; the presentation of the 2017 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments; the bestowing of the 28th NFF William V. Campbell Trophy®, presented by Fidelity Investments, to college football’s top scholar-athlete; and the recognition of the 2017 NFF Major Award recipients.